I’ma Do Me

31 Dec

If you’ve ever listened to rap you’ve probably heard the saying “I’ma Do Me”. I’m not sure if it’s some sexual innuendo but I’ll take it as them saying they’re going to put themselves first. So when thinking of my new years resolutions that saying kept popping in my head.

 So 2011 “I’ma Do Me”.

 I’m going to start taking care of myself. Focus on what I need to do to be successful, healthy, strong (mentally, emotionally and physically) and most of all happy. All my life I have been a people pleaser and always tried to go out of my way to make people like me, and now im really starting to realize that when I do that I hurt myself sometimes.

It’s obviously okay to be vulnerable, but we also need to be strong and believe in ourselves. And once we believe and trust ourselves we can do anything, nothing is impossible!

So to start off my year with my positive resolution I decided to go through my closet and purge. I’m a clothes hoarder, I’ll admit it. I’ve held on to clothes that are too big for fear of once I throw them out I will magically gain all that weight back instantly. I realize it isn’t possible, considering I eat healthy 80% of the time, and do some sort of excercise almost daily, I’ve just never been this small in my life, but ive also never been this healthy or active in my life. Thats another story for another day. Anyways, well purging my closet I FINALLY got up the nerve to give away the clothes I have been holding on to, and it feels GOOD. I was holding on to too many clothes for too many reasons.

I got rid of a whole garbage bag of clothes. And it makes me feel good to give it to  people who need it the most, not holding onto it for my sake.

Its time to put ourselves first and make sure we take care of our number one, ourselves!

Lisa xoxo

Ques: What are you going to do this year strictly for you? Are you gunna do you??

3 Responses to “I’ma Do Me”

  1. MelissaNibbles January 1, 2011 at 12:31 am #

    Thank you for your sweet comment on my blog tonight! It made my day 🙂

    You do you girl…this year Ima do me and lots of dudes!

  2. julie January 1, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    haha! this reminds me that i should proooooobably unload the laundry basket that has been sitting in my room since christmas..

    ima do me too. no bitchassness this year.

  3. SweetLikeTea January 9, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    send those clothes my way!!!
    xox

Leave a Reply

