DJ Play My Song

10 Jan

Music has always been a big part of my life. The first song I really remember was “Have I Told You Lately” by Van Morrison. My dad used to play it for my mom and I and it was always “our” song. He tells me it was the song that was playing on the radio during time I was born. Music sucks me in, makes me zone out and takes me to a place I can really let go.  The genres range from Broadway, some country, disco, pop, to hip hop, jazz, latin, alternative and oldies.  I’m the kind of girl who could go to a club sober and as long as there is good music I will dance… and sing.

I have always loved to sing and dance. When I was younger I used to have a HUGE binder full of lyrics that I would print off the internet. I really have no idea why I did that. But I know I used to sit in front of the computer with Kazaa on and sing along while reading the lyrics. And musicals? Dont even get me started.  If I was super talented Broadway would be my job. I loved to entertain. When we had dinner at my grandparents house on Friday nights I would put on their record player, put in  the Sound of Music, or Fiddler on the Roof and entertain them with my singing, dancing and acting. I would put on shows for my cousins behind their house with my dance moves to Grease. And I would sing along with my cousins to broadway music too. It was always a dance party for me.

When my mom was sick my dad made a cd for our friends and family with all the songs she loved on it. Now every time I listen to a song that is on the cd I am reminded of my mom and it brings back good memories. We always had music playing in her room at the hospital and I like to think it was soothing her pain and ours as well.

Music has also brought me closer to my dad. Its one of the strong things we have in common.We could easily go away to Cuba and listen to the music there at night, go to New Orleans and sit in a club , and when we went to Chicago we hit up a few blues clubs and reconnected through music.

Music will always be my heart and soul. Without it I don’t know how I would live!

Lisa xoxo

2 Responses to “DJ Play My Song”

  1. SweetLikeTea January 10, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    “When I was younger I used to have a HUGE binder full of lyrics that I would print off the internet.”

    OH MY GOD I WAS JUST TALKING ABOUT THAT TO SARA.
    i was soooo jealous

Leave a Reply

